Know your audience this Valentines Day

31 Jan

I contacted a lot of my girlfriend’s before I wrote this post because I wanted to make sure that I was on the right track.  Basically the key is knowing who you are in a relationship with.

Most of my friends expressed that they were less interested in celebrating Valentine’s Day the older they get or the longer they are in a relationship but there are exceptions!

  • I have one friend who is into celebrating every little anniversary so I’m confident that she would love a big deal to be made out of Valentines Day.
  • If you are in a new relationship or if it is your first Valentines Day as a couple then Valentines Day can be important.  It’s not really about the gifts in this case but more about the gentleman in question laying their cards on the table and saying that they care.
  • If your lady friend is in their teens or early twenties they will likely appreciate a celebration of sorts but just be aware that it is not so much about the romance with you as it is about having a good story to tell their girlfriends about how romantic you are!

I have several friends who believe that the need to celebrate Valentines Day is symptomatic of problems in your relationship.  It has become a very commercial occasion but in my opinion your can’t go wrong with a nice card or even just making sure your tell your loved one how much you love them so they feel special all day.

Valentines Day is also a nice reminder to stop and ask yourself “How often do I tell you or show you how much I care?” and “When was the last time we did something nice together?”.

Valentines Day is also a super sweet day to tell your crush that you like them!

Basically, very few women would object to a sweet gesture but if you are in any doubt as to whether Valentines Day is a big deal in your relationship then go all out.  Better to go big than go home!

Leave a Reply

